Back! And with shopping tips!

Whoopeeeee!!!!!! Finals are done. SAT is (hopefully) done. And school is starting with a clean slate – new classes, new grades, yay!

So, yesterday, in order to celebrate the end of the semester, I went shopping with some friends. Recently, with the recession, I’ve been seeing people put up shopping tips everywhere. So I thought that I would put up some of my own. I consider myself a very smart shopper (after a couple of years of experience) so here are my tips.

  1. Don’t do rush shopping – If you go shopping right before a big event, chances are that you won’t get something you absolutely looooove. And you’ll probably end up plunking a big chunk of money down for it too. The solution? When you see something you really really like, buy it. Doesn’t matter if you might not wear it in the near future. The  possibility of using it is enough. Especially if it’s on sale. Besides, if it looks good on you (which it should if you’re going to buy it), wearing it even in the privacy of your own home is always a self-esteem booster. I’ve made this mistake  a lot – found a great pair of heels for $10, but I thought I would never need them, and so I didn’t get them. Fast forward two years later, and those heels would look great with all of my dresses. Damn.
  2. Quality over quantity – there are some things you just can’t skimp on – a great handbag, comfortable shoes. And these are what you should spend most on. You need to decide what is important to you, and expect to spend a lot of money on them. For example – all those camisoles and tee shirts you see with the big designer names? Yeah, those are like $40. Get a pack of Hanes t-shirts for $3 at Target. On the other hand, a pair of jeans that make your butt look great? Well, that’s a once in a lifetime find for most people. Spend money on that.
  3. Don’t buy something just because it’s cheap – if you never wear it, that’s still money out of your pocket that you haven’t used. I once found a cashmere dress for $15. At the time, I thought to myself: Gosh, cashmere for cheap! So what if it doesn’t fit that well, I’m gonna buy it anyways. 3 years later, how many times have a worn that dress? None. That’s 15 bucks I’ll never see again.
  4. Buy something you love – there’s no point in buying something that you’ll never wear. Buy something you’ll wear constantly, and then your purchase will be worth it. Even if it was really expensive, if you wear it constantly, you’ll get your money’s worth.
  5. Be patient – if you go through everything slowly, you will find what you’re looking for. Sure, it might take a couple of shopping trips, but eventually, you’ll find it. And chances are you’ll like it more than if you just grabbed a random garment that was kinda what you wanted but not really.
  6. Shop at the right times – I pretty much go shopping about 3 times a year – Fourth of July (I stopped watching fireworks when I was a kid. And there are some pretty awesome sales), Black Friday, and after-Christmas sales (started going this year). These are when all the sales are, and they’re pretty huge. Not only that, but if you’re into stuff that’s not usually on sale (the trendy stuff), then you’ll be able to find it on sale here, when the whole store’s on sale.
  7. Screw the trends – I practically go straight for the sale section every time I step into a store. That, and I shop at outlets. I don’t care if I’m wearing last season clothes. If it looks good, it’s cheap, it’s good quality, I’ll buy it. That, and I really can’t justify to myself buying something not on sale unless I love it. The last time I did this was probably three years ago.
  8. You don’t have to buy something every time you go shopping – The other day, when I went to the mall, the only thing I bought was food (I love it, what can I say?). I tried some stuff on, didn’t like it, didn’t buy it. I feel like you should have this mentality every time you go shopping, because otherwise, you force yourself to buy something you either don’t necessarily need or don’t necessarily want.
  9. Avoid the mall (and online sites) if you don’t want to spend money – If you don’t see it, you don’t buy it. Simple as that.
  10. Have fun when you go shopping! Shopping should be fun. It’s shouldn’t be something that you force yourself through. If you’re not in a good mood every time you shop, you’re not going to be shopping well. So try to cheer up and brighten up when you go shopping.

Well, that’s it! Sorry about the hiatus, but I’ll try to update as often as possible. Hope the shopping tips helped!

Leave a Reply

